Skip to content

Uploading files and links…

October 17, 2014

SchoolWorld – blackboard, whoever else.  I had a request the other day to update a file in the cabinet that is linked from in two places.  I could not initially find the file in the cabinet, so i went to one of the two pages where it is referenced and uploaded the file to the page – and changed the URL in the link in the page.  I went to do the same on the other page, but stopped because I could was being dumb.  Find the file in the cabinet and update it.  I new it was there since the link in the page had a path to the filecabinet.

My second attempt to find the file was successful.

schoolworld filecabinet

Once I found the file in the cabinet – I was able to update it.  I also had to read the file description, because it lists the others places in the site where the file is referenced.  I have to actually copy the new reference to it, because the file name changed.

I do not have to change the file name… I can simply rename the file that was given me and leave the reference file alone. The date does not have to be included in the file name – use something like EMERGENCY PLAN BOCES WIDE .pdf

Each time I am given an updated file, I simply rename it to EMERGENCY PLAN BOCES WIDE .pdf – there is even a friendly file name that i could use to say something like EMERGENCY PLAN BOCES WIDE – October 2014 .pdf

This is preferred because I do not have to change the references to it in other places.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

